Client Reviews

"This was my first time working with Mrs. Lisa Church (Waterfront Tax) and my experience with her has been outstanding. I would highly recommend her. During our first meeting she was very open and honest about what her business can do so I would have the best tax outcome. Lisa, lived up to giving me the best tax outcome. The other best thing about Lisa's company was her tax service can be done (virtual) online! That was a bonus and she was always available for questions. You can not go wrong with Lisa and I look forward to many more years with her doing my taxes."

-Al Jameson, May 2020


"I had used TurboTax for about 10 years, and I think it's ok for very basic filing, but since I had started renting a room in 2017, it had complicated things beyond my level of tax knowledge (which is very low), and had even paid extra to use one of their "specialists" which actually screwed it up even more. I didn't want to use any of the big franchises as they basically work just like TurboTax (although you pay them to punch in the numbers for you). Searched google and came across Waterfront Tax & Accounting. I was hesitant due to the lack of Google reviews, but their Facebook page has over 200 likes, so that made me feel better about checking into it. In the end, I paid a little more than TurboTax, but am also getting a bigger refund than what TurboTax was showing (I did start the filing process with them for 2019 taxes and got too frustrated). I am highly satisfied with their knowledge and service, and will continue to use them in the future. Thanx Lisa and Susan!"

-Mike Hower, Nov 2020


"Very professional and prompt tax service, at a very reasonable price. This was the first year I used Waterfront Tax & Accounting / Lisa Church and I found Lisa to be extremely responsive and professional. The tax service was much cheaper than my previous accounting service, so that was an added benefit. All transactions were conducted via a secure portal on-line, so I had no concerns transmitting or receiving documents. I highly recommend Lisa for accounting services."

-Carmine Apicella, May 2020


"This is our second year with Waterfront Tax and we can't recommend it strongly enough! Lisa and her team are thorough and responsive. They put clients first!"

-P. Garrow, June 2020


"Lisa is great to work with and brings her expert knowledge and experience to assist you with your taxes. Plus she is great about keeping you informed of the latest tax changes."

-Jerry Dixon, June 2020


"We feel very fortunate to have worked with Lisa for more than 5 years. She has handled our personal and self employment returns flawlessly, guided us through tax law changes, and researched challenging questions dealing with military retirement, business entities, and multiple state non resident returns. Lisa is pleasant, communicative, responsive and extremely knowledgeable. We have received excellent service from this firm. Can't ask for a better accountant!"

-Lara Mulvaney, March 2020


"Lisa provides 5 Star World Class Service and is The Best CPA Ever! Its is so great to not worry about my taxes anymore and to know I am getting maximum savings with all my taxes filed perfectly. The time and stress her company saves me is priceless! You just cant do better than Lisa!!!"

-Tim McGee, November 2019


"I called Waterfront Tax and Accounting and I was really impress how she made me feel I was a person not a number in the system. I would highly recommend her services to anyone out there."

-Kyle Parks, March 2020


"My husband and I contacted Lisa to guide us through the new tax laws, help us think through financial planning for retirement, etc. She put us at ease immediately. We felt very comfortable with her knowledge and expertise. We love the fact that we can do so much online with a secure electronic portal. We are confident we made the right decision by going with Lisa!"

-Elizabeth Williams-Raistrick, October 2019


"My wife and I have a fairly complicated situation (Both self employed and own several rental properties, some in different states). Lisa immediately came up with multiple suggestions after a very thorough and at length review of our previous tax years. We are very pleased with her service thus far and plan to use her in the near future with other aspects of our businesses. Very fair and reasonable pricing as well."

-Chris Romjue, November 2019


"Ms. Church helped me with an IRS audit. She was very professional and knowledgeable. She was able to get an equitable settlement that I would not have been able to get on my own. I will gladly use her services in the future."

-Nina Duckery, October 2019


"My wife and I met with Lisa for the first time and we felt very comfotable with her and decided to have Waterfront handle our tax needs."

-John Cullen, January 2020


"Lisa has great communication. She was very thorough and got me the best return I could have received. Kind, helpful, I highly recommend her!"

-Stephen Summers, April 2019


"Exceptional Service"

-Clive Flory, February 2020


See more reviews and leave us a review on Google Business >>

What others have said about us:


"Lisa is the best tax preparer. She’s organized, punctual, and knowledgeable about the tax code, especially for sole proprietors."

-Melanie Fallow, Senior Public Affairs Specialist at Us Government Accountability Office


"Lisa is a consummate professional who I trust entirely with my financial information and tax preparation. Somehow she makes sense of my less than stellar organizational skills and always has time to answer all of my questions about taxes! I truly appreciate her patience and abilities to ease my mind about a world I am completely unfamiliar with."

-Susan O’Brien, Communications Officer at City of Annapolis


"Lisa gets taxes the way most people get breathing. If you want an expert who understands the nuances of the tax code, she is the One you’ve been looking for. A bit of context to back up my unambiguous endorsement: my wife and I purchased our first rental property a couple of years ago. For the first time, we took our taxes to a CPA, just to ensure that everything was set up correctly. Unfortunately, the job was not done particularly well. We needed help. We needed someone who could understand the prior mistakes and know how to fix things. We needed Lisa. She worked closely with us to understand our specific situation. She listened to our questions and walked us through several different approaches to our taxes so we could make the best decision possible. I’m so glad that Lisa is on our team now, and I do not hesitate to endorse her expertise, work ethic, and customer service."

-Brian Asti, Chief Engineer and Project Manager at Northrop Grumman


"We have worked with Lisa for several years. She has been extremely professional and responsive to our needs. Our returns are completed quickly and we have never had to do an extension due to her prompt turnaround. When we have had technical questions, Lisa has always been able to provide an informed and knowledgeable response. I highly recommend Lisa to all of her prospective clients."

-Tim Niles, Cyber Threat Specialist


"I feel lucky to have Lisa in my village. Her friendly interaction and attention to our smallest details during tax season is to be noted. Her online portal for document sharing really eases our process. She has prepared personal and business tax returns for us, and provided excellent advice on numerous subjects, including out of state returns, military and military spouse tax issues, self-employment considerations, retirement planning and 529 plan carryovers. Her work is stellar– on time, with enthusiasm, and of the highest quality. I highly recommend Lisa Church!"

-Lara Mulvaney, GIS Support Specialist at Anne Arundel County


"Lisa has a very comprehensive background in income tax preparation and accounting. She is very responsive to her clients and dedicated to their success. She takes advantage of every opportunity to learn so she can provide accurate tax advise to her clients. She listens to her clients’ needs and partners with them to develop solutions to achieve their financial goals."

-Stacey Winkelspecht, CPA, MBA


"Going to Lisa for our personal federal and state taxes was a great decision. We had a change of state residency, change of job status, and new retirement funding to consider. She explained our options, gave us actionable, beneficial recommendations in our first get-acquainted consultation, and improved our financial picture as well as our comfort level about dealing with our new tax situations. She cheerfully adapted to our rapidly changing travel schedule in the spring – I’m sure we complicated her preparation timelines but she made it transparent to us. Preparation, signing and filing all went very smoothly. Looking forward to working with her again next year."

-Bill Schulz, Office of Federal Coordinator for Meteorology at National Oceanic & Atmospheric Administration


"Lisa has been a lifesaver for both my personal accounting/taxes as well as two businesses. For both businesses, she maintains Quick books and files returns as necessary…she is always there to help me with any obstacles I run into. I highly recommend Lisa."

-Nicholas Somers – Marketing, Membership, Business Development Manager at Signature Federal Credit Union


"I hired Lisa in January 2012. She was a CPA from Tennessee, with a family that she commuted back and forth to see–much like my own situation at the time. Lisa was a tremendous help to me that tax season and the following year. She is meticulous, organized and keeps very good workpapers. As I started traveling more with my husband, I needed to reduce my workload and Lisa was enthusiastic about increasing her client base. I referred clients to her and it was a service to us all. We have maintained a professional and personal relationship over the years. We still see each other at tax seminars and confer with one another when the need arises. I am honored to call her a friend and colleague. When you meet her you will be impressed by her professionalism, knowledge and southern charm."

-Krista A. Boteler, Owner at Krista A Boteler CPA


"If you are a small business owner or rental property investor, I highly recommend you retain Lisa as your CPA. I own my own consulting and training agency, and I’ve invested in two rental properties. Lisa has demonstrated a high level of expertise in reviewing my expenses and making recommendations for completing my tax returns properly. Lisa answers emails and phone calls promptly. She does a thorough job of yearly tax preparation and filing for me. During tax season, Lisa is cheerful, patient and works very hard to ensure all deductions that are allowable are claimed. Call or email Lisa today to ask how her CPA consultancy can help you."

-Nancy McDonald – SEO Trainer, SEO Consultant


"Lisa has been my CPA for the past 4-5 years and she has been nothing short of exceptional! I’ve lived in 3 states during that time period and her knowledge, client care, and efficiency have been excellent. I feel comfortable asking any question and feel she is truly looking out for my best interest. I would give her the highest recommendation."

-Rene Lyst Ed. D., Experienced Higher Education Professional


"Highly recommend Lisa! She has been my accountant for 3-4 years and has been nothing short of resourceful, communicative, and extremely knowledgeable. I’ve been lucky to have her in my corner. I run my own business so things are not always black and white – Lisa gets that and has always given me the best advice and practices. I have passed her along to everyone I know looking for an accountant!"

-Shane Hall, Sales Associate at TTR Sotheby’s International Realty


"Lisa worked with my wife and mother-in-law to untangle some complicated retirement tax matters. She worked tirelessly to educate us on what we had done incorrectly in the past, carefully crafted a detailed explanation to the IRS and saved us tens of thousands of dollars in penalties. No detail is too small or an accounting problem too complex for Lisa to solve. Her work is flawless and efficient. Plus, she was able to work remotely from another state and never missed a beat. She is a superb tax accountant and would be a great asset to any business that needs year-round remote CFO or outsourced controller assistance. I highly recommend!"

-Frank McClung, Web designer at dotp, Fulbright Scholar, US Air Force Academy ‘93


"I was really happy with the tax service from Lisa Church. We contacted Lisa late in the tax season, and she was able to get our paperwork finished quickly (and with a much larger return than we were expecting!). She is very professional and easy to work with. My wife and I are fairly complicated in terms of taxes: -Military -Residents of separate states -Own 3 properties across 2 states -W-2s from multiple states None of this seemed to phase Lisa, she even caught mistakes in previous year tax returns with regard to housing depreciation. I highly recommend her for your accounting/tax prep needs! Feel free to contact me for further information."

-Eric Rohan, United States Navy


"Lisa really knows her stuff. I have been operating a small real estate investment business full time for 6 years. After 5 years of trying to keep up with the accounting and taxes in my business based on some loose guidance from my previous accountant, she stepped in and within a very short time has filed my taxes for the previous year, negotiated with the IRS on my behalf, helped me understand changes I need to make, and is helping me restructure the business to save a significant amount of taxes in the future. I can’t recommend her enough."

-Merrick L. Loveland, 48 hr. House Buyer


"I have known Lisa for over 25 years. She is attentive to detail and great at communicating with her clients. Lisa has lots of experience in many areas of real estate. I would not hesitate to hire her or work with her on a joint project."

-Philip Burnett, Managing Partner at Bean, Smith and Burnett Attorneys


"I have worked with Lisa for several years and found her work exceptional. She has provided both excellent tax work, but great advice and guidance on my tax/finance strategies. She is great to work with and very responsive. Would recommend her to anyone!"

-John Palien, International HR Consultant providing broad HR consulting services to the international development community


“This is Bill Tucker, Managing Partner of the Stone Trust family of real estate companies. Lisa has been managing our accounting/bookkeeping services for the past few years, and does an excellent job at it. We have: multiple companies under our umbrella; numerous ongoing sale and rental properties; HOA/Condo fees that are constantly changing; various state, county and local gov't agencies to keep abreast of and make filings with; depreciation; multiple jobs occurring simultaneously within and across various entities; and the two partners operating from different states. With all of that, Lisa is able to maintain our ongoing books/monthly financials accurately and timely, and it makes our jobs easier to not have to worry about those items.”

- Bill Tucker, CEO, Managing Partner at Stone Trust Real Estate

Beach again